Welcome to Midway Surf Life Saving Club on Gisborne’s Centennial Marine Drive

We’re a family-focused club providing a safe environment to swim, and opportunities for anyone to learn water skills.

Midway Beach is stunning and expansive. Just three minutes drive from the centre of Gisborne it’s a favourite spot for swimmers, surfers, families and beach-goers year round.

Our focus is safety and fun in the surf and we’re in it for life!

We patrol Midway Beach in Gisborne through the summer months on Saturdays and public holidays 1pm-5pm, and Sundays 9.30am-5.30pm.  The red and yellow flags show the safest place to swim on the beach.

Whether you’re interested in surf sport, lifeguarding, meeting new people, or you’ve moved to Gisborne and just want a place to train – Midway Surf Life Saving Club welcomes you!

We offer a safe, friendly and welcoming environment where all members can interact and enjoy the health and social benefits of belonging to a club that embraces team spirit and inclusion.

Our premier sponsor

Midway Key Events

Juniors:

2022 National Pool Rescue Championships, Sir Owen Glenn National Aquatic Centre, Auckland

Fri 7 Oct - Sun 9 Oct View event

Midway Junior Surf Opening Day - Midway Beach - 9.30 Little Rippers, 10am Nippers

Sun 6 Nov

Gisborne/Tairawhiti Junior Champs, Gisborne

Fri 3 Feb - Sat 4 Feb

Eastern Region Junior Champs, Waihi Beach

Sat 11 Feb - Sun 12 Feb View event

Oceans 23, Main Beach, Mt Maunganui

Thu 23 Feb - Sun 26 Feb View event
Seniors:

2022 National Pool Rescue Championships, Sir Owen Glenn National Aquatic Centre, Auckland.

Fri 7 Oct - Sun 9 Oct View event

Gizzy Grinder Event Weekend, Gisborne

Fri 25 Nov - Sun 27 Nov

Gisborne/Tairawhiti Senior Champs, Gisborne

Thu 5 Jan - Sat 7 Jan

Eastern Region Senior Champs, Mt Maunganui

Fri 27 Jan - Sun 29 Jan View event

2023 TSB Surf Life Saving Championships, Christchurch

Thu 9 Mar - Sun 12 Mar View event
Club:

Midway SLSC Club Camp, Mahia

Sat 29 Oct - Sun 30 Oct
Midway SLSC Drone Footage